Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
County Officials Take Office
Wednesday, January 7, 2009 • Posted January 7, 2009

Mason County Judge Jerry Bearden administered the Oath of Office of four county officials, including newly elected Sheriff Buster Nixon, on Thursday January 1st at a 9:00am ceremony in the Mason County Courthouse.

County Commissioners Wayne Hofmann, Pct. 1, and Stanley Toeppich, Pct. 3, along with County Attorney Shain Chapman were reelected during the 2008 elections. Sheriff Nixon received his oath in front of a large group of supporters during the ceremony. Other county officials present were County Treasurer Polly McMillan, Commissioner John Flemming, Pct. 2, Commissioner Eldon Kothmann, Pct. 4, and County/District Clerk Pam Beam.

Prior to the taking of the Oath of Office, the Commissioners' Court voted to accept the Bonds of Office for those officials that were to be sworn into their respective positions. After the Commissioners' Court meeting, County Clerk Pam Beam administered the Oath of Office to the Mason County Sheriff's Department deputies. Those deputies are, Chief Deputy Billy Carson, Sgt. Bobby Parker, Sammy Zapata, and Bob Feuerbacher (part-time).

This article has been read 209 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus