Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Results of Mason County Democratic Convention
County Democratic Chair
Wednesday, March 26, 2014 • Posted March 27, 2014

We had a great convention Saturday! There were 21 loyal Democrats in attendance. Dan Barton manned the registration table and Mary Freytag was elected Secretary. We opened with the Pledge of Allegiance to the US flag and joined together to sing the “Star Spangled Banner”. We sounded pretty darned good, too!

Many local issues were discussed, including the past primary, ACA enrollment, and voter registration. Tom Gibbons was elected as Delegate to the State Convention in Dallas, June 26 -28. Dan Barton was elected as Alternate. I too will be attending.

The convention voted unanimously to support a Resolution supporting equal pay for Texas women. If anyone is interested in reading this resolution, let me know and I will send it to you. Cindy Morris was appointed to chair the Voter Registration Committee.

Application and funding for the Mason County Democratic Party Scholarship was discussed. Each year, we offer the $1000 scholarship to a Mason High School Graduate. Gerald Gamel chairs the Scholarship Committee and they are working on the application to be presented May 19.

Thanks to all who attended and to those who could not be there; keep your heads up and be proud to be a Texas Democrat!

This article has been read 54 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus