Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Mason High School Wins District Academic Championship
Wednesday, April 22, 2009 • Posted April 22, 2009

Competing against 15 schools, Mason High captured the District 30-A academic championship. When points from all academic events and the One Act Play were tallied MHS had 266 points well ahead of second place Brackettville with 231 points. 60 students made contributions to the academic program. This year’s academic team was lead by an outstanding senior class. Many from the Class of 2009 have competed in multiple events over the past four years. 17 students from MHS advanced to regional competition as the result of their placement in recent District 30-A contests held in Center Point. To make the regional contest, which will be held April 23rd and 24th at Blinn in Brenham, Texas, a student must have finished in one of the top three positions of a given category. The fourth place finisher was named as an alternate. First place teams also advance to regional.

District competition started in February when Courtland Hemphill and Bobby Buist placed fourth in CX Debate. They were alternates to state.

The MHS students placing and those advancing to regional along with their events are as follows:

Tabitha Zant- third, Persuasive Speaking; first, LD Debate; fourth, Editorial Writing

Brodey Taylor-third, LD Debate

Amanda Hudson-fourth, LD Debate; first place team Lit. Crit.

Jorge Morales-fourth, Editorial Writing

Cristi Slocum-first, Literary Criticism; Lit. Crit, first place team

Bobby Buist-first place team, Literary Criticism,

Orlando Jaquez- sixth, Number Sense

Madison Burney- third, Poetry Reading

Courtland Hemphill-fourth, Ready Writing

Amanda Henrich-fourth, Poetry Reading

Gabe Gonzales-first, Headline Writing; fourth, Spelling

Brittany Estes-first, Prose Reading

Zack Nash- sixth, Science; first place in Physics

Ellie Blair- first, Poetry Reading

Star Longoria-second, Prose Reading

Havana Schmidt-second, Ready Writing

Rachel Collett-fourth, Literary Criticism; first place Team Lit.Crit.

Jenny Smith-fourth, Prose Reading

Gerardo Perez-sixth, Calculator

Dyllan Hofmann-fifth, Informative Speaking

Denay Baxter-sixth, Informative Speaking

Alex Martinez-fifth, Persuasive Speaking

MHS students captured first place team honors in Literary Criticism and Speaking.

Coaches for placing students included:

Justin Josselet-CX Debate

Tami Russell and Merlina Gamel- One Act Play

Chris Habecker-Number Sense

Sherry Keller- Calculator

Jamie Hatfield- Science

Kelly Guice- Spelling and Ready Writing

Dawn Hahn- Prose and Poetry Reading

Glendene Underwood- Literary Criticism and Journalism

Gay Nesloney-LD Debate, Informative Speaking, Persuasive Speaking, and MHS UIL Academic Coordinator

This article has been read 147 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus