Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Teachers Hear Their Value From the Source: A Student Mason graduate honored for excellence
Wednesday, May 13, 2009 • Posted May 13, 2009

Victor Martinez, senior at Lehman High School, could probably choose any career he wants. In high school, the academic and extracurricular accolades abound for him. College holds a bright promise.

Victor chooses to be a teacher.

He testified to this on Wednesday, in front of Hays CISD’s 20 Teachers of the Year, who were lauded with a banquet sponsored by the Hays CISD Education Foundation.

“I have the upmost respect for the hard work that goes into teaching,” he said. “I am passionate about education. It is something I want to do the rest of my life.”

Victor reminded teachers of the impact they make on their students’ lives, saying, “We, your students, are your legacy.”

“Teachers make all of the difference,” he said. “I owe so much to the effort and dedication of my teachers.”

The district’s Elementary Teacher of the Year, Ashley Taylor, 4th Grade teacher at Tom Green Elementary School, and Secondary Teacher of the Year, Halley Ortiz, Language Arts teacher at Wallace Middle School, were announced on Wednesday. In addition, Regina Butcher, Assistant Principal of Negley Elementary School, was recognized as the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA) Region XIII Assistant Principal of the Year.

The teaching profession is the one profession “that prevails to this day in its importance,” said Dr. Jeremy Lyon, Superintendent of Hays CISD. “Teaching is the cornerstone of preserving our democracy. It is a valuable and courageous enterprise.”

Dr. Lyon, in his first month with the district, noted he is impressed with the environment of collaboration.

“This begins with our teachers,” he said.

The Teachers of the Year were treated to lunch at the Onion Creek Country Club, delivered by limousine, and given flowers and gifts by the Education Foundation. This is the second year for the luncheon sponsored by the Foundation.

The 2009 Hays CISD Teachers of the Year are:

T.J. Moreno Negley Elementary School

Stacey Magnesio Kyle Elementary School

Mandy Taylor Elm Grove Elementary School

Andi Bosar Buda Elementary School

Ashley Taylor Tom Green Elementary School

Karen Bumpous Fuentes Elementary School

Emily Herrin Hemphill Elementary School

Peggy Cuevas Science Hall Elementary School

Michelle McCoy Tobias Elementary School

Marianella Garza Blanco Vista Elementary School

Esmeralda Perez-Gonzales Camino Real Elementary School

Halley Ortiz Wallace Middle School

Rebecca Colonnetta Dahlstrom Middle School

Karen Sinor Barton Middle School

Samantha Tuttle Chapa Middle School

Kerri Espinoza Hays High School

Haylie Sansom Lehman High School

Doug Agnew Academy High School

Judy Schnautz The Impact Center

Tracy Ward Special Education

This article has been read 142 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus