Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
The Cailloux Foundation Announces 2009 Recipients of 16 Scholarships for Hill Country High School Se
Wednesday, May 20, 2009 • Posted May 20, 2009

KERRVILLE— Sixteen high school graduates from the Hill Country have been chosen to receive scholarships from the Floyd A. and Kathleen C. Cailloux Foundation (the Foundation) of Kerrville, Texas. The Foundation established The Cailloux Foundation Scholarship Program in 2000 to benefit graduating seniors from selected Texas Hill Country high schools.

The 2009 recipients have been chosen from high schools in Bandera, Comfort, Harper, Ingram, Kerrville, Mason, Nueces Canyon, and Leakey. Awards are up to $12,000 per recipient annually and are for undergraduate study only. The scholarships are renewable for up to four years for a maximum multi-year award of $48,000 per student. Scholarship recipients attend four-year public or private colleges or universities in Texas. The program will now have 64 freshmen through senior level students participating as scholarship recipients.

The 2009 scholarship recipients include Stephanie L. Biediger and Marion F. Marxer from Bandera High School; John Rice from Comfort High School; Megan A. Torres from Harper High School; Allison B. Anderson from Ingram Tom Moore High School; Joseph D. Austin and Shelby M. Rasco from Leakey High School; Stephen R. Marquez from Mason High School; Jeremy A. Johnson and Clint N. Morgan from Nueces Canyon High School; Kyle D. Higgins from Our Lady of the Hills Regional Catholic High School; as well as Amanda L. Gerken, John H. Gruetzner, Courtney L. Parmer, William B. Willis, and Hayden T. Wood all from Kerrville’s Tivy High School.

The applicants met or exceeded a minimum Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) score requirement of 1022, or a minimum American College Test (ACT) score of 22. They also have a minimum grade average of 85 and are in the top one-third of their class. Scholarship applications were made available to any interested senior graduating from an eligible high school and meeting the academic and financial eligibility requirements. Eligible high schools include Bandera High School, Ed Brune High School at Big Spring Ranch near Leakey, Center Point High School, Comfort High School, Fredericksburg High School, Harper High School, Ingram’s Tom Moore High School, Junction High School, Leakey High School, Mason High School, Medina High School, Nueces Canyon High School near Barksdale, Our Lady of the Hills Catholic High School in Kerrville, Rocksprings High School, Tivy High School in Kerrville, and Utopia High School in Utopia. The scholarship application was available on the Internet for any eligible student from November 1, 2008 through February 1, 2009.

Final selection of recipients for the scholarship awards were overseen by International Scholarship and Tuition Services, Inc. (ISTS) of Nashville, TN. ISTS utilized standard comprehensive recipient selection procedures in making the final selections including the consideration of past academic performance, financial need, statement of career goals, educational aspirations, work experience, unusual personal or family circumstances, leadership skills, participation in school and community activities, recommendation letters, and an essay.

“The Foundation is committed to the scholarship program and we believe it is a very wise use of charitable dollars,” said Ben Modisett, Assistant Executive Director for the Foundation, “We are pleased to be able to provide assistance and encouragement to young people,” he added.

The Foundation’s mission is to perpetuate the vision of founders Floyd A. and Kathleen C. Cailloux. Contact the Foundation at 830-895-5222 for additional information.


Name High School Major College

§ Allison Anderson Ingram Pharmacy Incarnate Word

§ Joseph Austin Leakey Accounting Schreiner

§ Stephanie Biediger Bandera English/Literature Rice

§ Amanda Gerken Kerrville – Tivy German/History UT Austin

§ John Gruetzner Kerrville – Tivy Biomedical Engineering Texas A&M

§ Kyle Higgins Kerrville– OLH Engineering Texas A&M

§ Jeremy Johnson Nueces Canyon Chemistry Angelo State

§ Stephen Marquez Mason Psychology/Biology UT Austin

§ Marion Marxer Bandera Pharmacy Austin College

§ Clint Morgan Nueces Canyon Biology Angelo State

§ Courtney Parmer Kerrville – Tivy Marketing Texas State

§ Shelby Rasco Leakey Biology UTSA

§ John Rice Comfort Graphic Design Schreiner

§ Megan Torres Harper Business St. Mary’s

§ William Willis Kerrville – Tivy Journalism Texas State

§ Hayden Wood Kerrville – Tivy Geology Texas A&M

This article has been read 243 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus