Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Shannon Recognized With Quality Improvement Award
Wednesday, September 23, 2009 • Posted September 23, 2009

Shannon Medical Center recently received the Texas Health Care Quality Improvement Achievement Award from TMF® Health Quality Institute, Texas’ Medicare Quality Improvement Organization. The award recognizes Shannon’s efforts to improve patient outcomes on select national quality measures.

Out of 227 Texas hospitals who voluntary entered the program in January 2008 and committed to improve quality of care, only 27 met the criteria and were presented with the Texas Health Care Quality Improvement Award of Excellence and 66 were presented with the Quality Improvement Achievement Award.

“In health care, we are never finished improving quality or care for our patients,” said Bryan Horner, President and CEO of Shannon Medical Center. “This honor highlights the commitment of our Associates and physicians and the continued work they do to provide quality care each and every day to our patients.”

The awards acknowledge hospitals for improving care related to acute myocardial infarction or AMI (heart attack), heart failure, pneumonia and surgical care. These clinical areas have been designated as national health care priorities by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and The Joint Commission. Hospitals receiving the award must be active in quality improvement and made required improvement on a composite scoring system called the Appropriate Care Measure (ACM), which consists of 24 quality indicators - eight AMI, four heart failure, seven pneumonia and five surgical care measures - for acute care hospitals.

“These indicators relate to quality care for each patient from every staff member involved in the patient’s care,” said Joe Mims, M.D., co-medical director of Quality Improvement at Shannon. “The results from the ACM measure the percentage of patients who received appropriate care based on every standard measured. It is a more stringent measure than the current CMS data, because it measures how well all 24 indicators were collectively met for each patient instead of reporting them as individual measures.”

To qualify for the Quality Improvement Achievement Award, a hospital had to attain a minimum 80 percent for the Appropriate Care Measure, and to have met all other awards requirements. These included passing validation of three quarters of data (quarters 1-3, 2008), having mortality scores within the projected range and submitting the Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems Survey (HCAHPS) data.

“To achieve this recognition, we had to demonstrate significant improvement across several national quality measures. Our success illustrates our commitment to patient safety and to delivering quality health care” said Dr. Mims. “It was a significant amount of work, but well worth it because it was the right thing to do for our patients.”

“I congratulate all of our staff and physicians whose hard worked helped Shannon achieve this outstanding level of quality performance,” said Horner. “We are among the ranks of some more prestigious healthcare facilities throughout the state, and this award shows that our healthcare professionals will do what they can to ensure that every person gets the right care at the right time, every time.”

TMF Health Quality Institute established the awards program in partnership with The Texas Hospital Association, Texas Medical Association, Texas Organization of Rural & Community Hospitals and Texas Osteopathic Medical Association.

This article has been read 53 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus