Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
LCRA Board Appoints 17 to Regional Councils
Wednesday, December 9, 2009 • Posted December 9, 2009

AUSTIN – The LCRA Board of Directors appointed 17 people to fill vacancies on or expand six LCRA regional councils that provide a communication link between LCRA and the communities it serves.

The new council members – approved by the LCRA Board at its Nov. 18 meeting – will contribute input and discuss regional issues related to LCRA’s mission, which is to provide energy, water and community services and to help ensure the protection and constructive use of natural resources in the lower Colorado River basin.

In some cases, the new appointees will replace some council members, while in other cases the appointees are expanding the council to better represent local interests.

The appointees and their communities or areas of representation are as follows:

San Saba/Llano Regional Council:

Buchanan/Inks Regional Council:

LBJ/Marble Falls Regional Council:

Pedernales Regional Council:

Travis/Austin Regional Council:

Colorado/Wharton/Matagorda Regional Council:

LCRA created the six councils a year ago as a replacement to river and lake advisory panels that were created in 1996. A seventh council representing the Bastrop/Fayette County region has been created and is scheduled to begin meeting this January.

Jim Brasher, Columbus; Andres Garza, Jr., Wharton; Kasey Kram, Weimar; David Schroeder, Wharton; and Leeanna Shimek, El Campo.
Daniel Arredondo, San Marcos; and Willie J. Kopecky, Georgetown.
Carson Conklin, Kerr County; Commissioner Donna Eccleston, Comal County; Dwayne Hoppe, Blanco County; Council Member Stacie Keeble, Kerrville; Tim Lehmberg, Gillespie County; Ruby Perez, New Braunfels; and Kerry Sweatt, Bandera Electric Cooperative.
Stan Farmer, Horseshoe Bay.
Terry Rodgers, Inks Lake State Park.
Pat Reardon, Mason County.

This article has been read 107 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus