Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
The Fab Five From Berlin
Wednesday, January 6, 2010 • Posted January 6, 2010

(Kerrville, TX) –The Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra recently performed at the 2,276 seat Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles to a SOLD OUT audience. Now, their fabulous five wind players are back in the United States for a mere two weeks to perform as special guests at the Chamber Music Society in both Cleveland and Detroit, the University of Chicago, Celebrity Series in Boston, Wolf Trap in Virginia, the University of Texas, and…Kerrville, Texas! th century for his great skill as a performer who was said by his contemporaries to have been the most technically advanced pianist of his age and perhaps the greatest pianist of all times. Liszt was an influential composer, a notable piano teacher, a conductor who contributed significantly to the modern development of the art, and a benefactor to other composers and performers, notably Richard Wagner, Hector Berlioz, Camille Saint-Saëns, Edvard Grieg and Alexander and again on Thursday, January 28th. Both performances will be at 7:30pm at Kerrville’s Cailloux Theater. Tickets ($25-$45) may be purchased at the Cailloux Theater Box Office (910 Main Street) or by calling 830.896.9393.

On Tuesday, January 26th and again on Thursday, January 28th, the Kerrville Performing Arts Society ( will once again bring the world of music to Kerrville with performances by Berlin’s Fab Five…the Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet.

According to Greg Talford, Artistic Director for the Kerrville Performing Arts Society, "The Berlin Wind Quintet will bring some of the finest musicians in the 25-year history of KPAS to our community." Talford continues, "An ensemble of this distinction generally appears only for major arts organizations throughout the country. However, in this case, the Berlin Wind Players will be at the University of Texas at Austin as guest artists and the timing for them to drive to Kerrville for two evening performances worked within their schedule."

The Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet ( is presently comprised of four of its original members including: Andreas Wittmann (oboe), Michael Hasel (flute), Walter Seyfarth (clarinet), and Fergus McWilliams (horn). In 2009, Marion Reinhard, replaced the 5th founding member, Henning Trog, as the bassoonist.

Oboist Andreas Wittmann is a direct descendent of Hungarian composer Franz Liszt. Liszt was renowned throughout Europe during the 19

In addition to his responsibilities with the Berlin Philharmonic and the Berlin Wind Quintet, Wittmann is principal oboe with the Bayreuth Festival Orchestra and appears as a soloist, chamber musician and teacher in Germany and abroad, in addition to being an instructor in the Berlin Orchestra Academy. Wittmann comments, "It has been my dream since childhood to be able to play in this orchestra. I am so grateful that this has become a reality."

This extraordinary wind quintet will perform the works of Mozart, Reicha, Milhaud and Nielsen on Tuesday, January 26

This article has been read 161 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus