Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Kothmann Retains Republican Nomination for Commissioner
Wednesday, March 17, 2010 • Posted March 17, 2010

The March 2nd primary election featured only one contested race in Mason County, that one being for the Precinct 4 Commissioner seat currently held by Eldon Kothmann. He was challenged by Frank Habecker, and was able to hold on to the Republican nomination, winning 151 to 82. He does not have a Democratic opponent for the general election.

Mason County voters turned out in large numbers for this primary, with 825 casting ballots in the Republican primary and 91 voting in the Democratic primary.

Incumbent governor, Rick Perry, narrowly defeated challenger Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchsion, 333 to 318, with challenger Debra Medina drawing 170 votes.

Congressman Mike Conaway easily defeated his two challengers, drawing 624 votes.

Republicans also had five non-binding referendums on the ballot and all five passed, with the totals being:

Item 1 - 660 for, 96 against

Item 2 - 682 for, 58 against

Item 3 - 694 for, 63 against

Item 4 - 742 for, 41 against

Item 5 - 493 for, 246 against

Democrats chose their gubernatorial candidate from a field of seven, easily selecting Bill White with 65 votes.

Local voters gave Ronnie Earle the nod for Lieutenant Governor with 41 votes to Linda Chavez-Thompson's 19; but, statewide, voters went with Chavez-Thompson.

This article has been read 106 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus