Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Mason Bluebonnet Study Club News
Wednesday, March 31, 2010 • Posted March 31, 2010

The Mason Bluebonnet Study Club sent three delegates to the annual spring convention of Texas Federation of Women;s Clubs Alamo District held in San Antonio on March 27. Tanya Lamoreaux, the local scholarship chair; Betty Meyer, local club reporter and district GFWC Domestic Violence Awareness chair; and Edna Earle Benton, past club president traveled to the San Antonio Woman’s Club mansion on San Pedro very early in the morning to take part in the all day meeting. The mansion is an elaborate century old home that has served as club house for San Antonio clubs since 1926.

Outgoing district president Patsy Troell of The Woman’s Club of Pleasanton presided over the meeting which included regular business of the district, awards presentation, and election and installation of officers for the next two year term. Forty-five delegates registered and took part in the meeting.

The Mason Bluebonnet Study Club was honored with first place awards in Resource Conservation, Focus on Financial Issues, GFWC Domestic Violence Awareness, Membership projects, President’s Special Project Domestic Violence Awareness programs, Outstanding Club Program, Outstanding Federation Program, and Historical People and Places. In addition, the club recieved second place awards in the areas of Scholarship, Texas Theme Yearbook Cover, and Fundraising. Tonya Lamoreaux accepted the awards in place of club president Mary Hemphill who was unable to attend while she is still mending from knee replacement surgery. A rose was given to represent each award and placed in a vase with the club’s name beside it. The Bluebonnet Study Club vase was full at the close of awards ceremonies.

On a sad note, it was announced that the district treasurer Betty Harkins of Victoria had lost her battle with pancreatic cancer earlier in the month. A remembrance rose was placed in a special vase for her and prayers offered for her family.

Highlight of the meeting was the installation of a new slate of officers to serve for the next two years. Installing officer was Sandi Conway of Albany who is the Texas Federation of Women’s Clubs second vice president. New officers are president Carol Habgood of San Antonio, president elect Pat Stevens of Lytle, first vice president Jo Cornstubble of Victoria, second vice president Dorothy Haverlah of Pleasanton, parliamentary advisor Bonnie Peterson of Victoria, state historical foundation representative Robin Pogue of San Antonio, state scholarship representative Mildred Allen of Cotulla, secretary Elizabeth Mode of San Antonio and treasurer Patsy Troell of Pleasanton.

The Texas Federation of Women’s Clubs is divided into twelve districts. The Alamo District includes thirteen clubs in the region. They are The Rosetta Club of Beeville, Woman's Club of Cotulla, The Lytle Woman’s Club of Lytle, Bluebonnet Study Club of Mason, Woman’s Club of Pleasanton, Woman's Study Club of Port Lavaca, Woman’s Club of Refugio, Rocksprings Woman's Club, San Antonio Women’s Federation, Decora Study Club of Victoria, Bronte Club of Victoria, Morning Study Club of Victoria, and Sandolphon Club of Victoria. All are a part of The General Federation of Women's Clubs, an international service organization headquartered in Washington, DC.

This article has been read 98 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus