Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Mason Bluebonnet Study Club News
Wednesday, April 28, 2010 • Posted April 28, 2010

The Mason Bluebonnet Study Club met at the Richard P. Eckert Civic Center on April 19, with club president Mary Hemphill presiding. Following the pledges to the flags of the United States of America and Texas, the group read the club collect in unison. Secretary Julie Harrison read minutes of the March meeting and treasurer Mary Ellen Merkel gave a financial report.

Answering roll call were Mary Ellen Merkel, Tonya Lamoreaux, Edna Earle Benton, Brinda Pape, Kristy Powell, Sabin Nelson, Mary Carlman, Mary Hemphill, Julie Harrison, Maudi Bergmann, and Betty Meyer.

It was announced that the scheduled speaker, Margaret Durst, was not contacted through an oversight, and that Kristy Powell had graciously volunteered to fill in. Mrs. Powell of Mason County Extension Service, presented a program on meals cooked in a slow cooker. Safety measures were presented and included making sure that the cooker is clean and that food is kept at a temperature that discourages bacteria from forming. Mrs. Powell suggested at least an hour of cooking on high prior to reducing heat to medium or low. Meats should be thawed prior to placing in cooker and cut into smaller pieces. Meat and vegetables should be stored separately until combined for cooking.

The cooker should always be at least one half to three quarters full. After cooking is complete, food should be removed from crock pots and stored in dishes that do not hold the heat.

Some sample recipes were distributed to those attending. Questions about slow cooking meals were asked and answered by Mrs. Powell.

Delegates to the Alamo District Spring Convention in San Antonio, Tonya Lamoreaux, Betty Meyer, and Edna Earle Benton reported that Mason Bluebonnet Study Club was honored with ten awards at the meeting.

A slate of officers for the upcoming term of office were elected. They are president Sabin Nelson, vice president Tonya Lamoreaux, treasurer Mary Ellen Merkel, secretary and reporter Betty Meyer, Federation Counselor Tommie Luckenbach, and parliamentarian Brinda Pape. They will be installed at the next meeting on May 17.

This article has been read 115 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus