Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
The Cailloux Foundation Announces 2010 Recipients of 18 Scholarships for Hill Country High School Se
Wednesday, May 5, 2010 • Posted May 5, 2010

KERRVILLE— Eighteen high school graduates from the Hill Country have been chosen to receive scholarships from the Floyd A. and Kathleen C. Cailloux Foundation (the Foundation) of Kerrville, Texas. The Foundation established The Cailloux Foundation Scholarship Program in 2000 to benefit graduating seniors from selected Texas Hill Country high schools.

The 2010 recipients have been chosen from high schools in Bandera, Comfort, Harper, Ingram, Junction, Kerrville, Mason, Medina, Nueces Canyon, Leakey, and Rocksprings. Awards are up to $12,000 per recipient annually and are for undergraduate study only. The scholarships are renewable for up to four years for a maximum multi-year award of $48,000 per student. Scholarship recipients attend four-year public or private colleges or universities in Texas. The 2010-2011 program will have 64 freshmen through senior level students participating as scholarship recipients.

The 2010 scholarship recipients include Kayla L. Rohrbach from Bandera High School; Carolina Robles and Lucas W. MacDonald from Comfort High School; Melissa N. Featherston from the Ed Brune Charter School; Rebecca L. Jackson and Cara E. Pascarella from Harper High School; Lucy K. Butler, Norma A. Castanon, and Kyle P. Hill from Ingram Tom Moore High School; Darian G. Condarco from Junction High School, Joaquin Mejia and Benjamin J. Morales from Mason High School; Mary E. Rizzi from Medina High School; Michael P. Johnston from Nueces Canyon High School; Daniel M. Gonzalez and Ian J. Lemmon from Tivy High School; as well as Justin R. Dalton and Judy Lynn M. Drazan from Rocksprings High School.

The applicants met or exceeded a minimum Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) score requirement of 1022, or a minimum American College Test (ACT) score of 22. They also have a minimum grade average of 85 and are in the top one-third of their class. Scholarship applications were made available to any interested senior graduating from an eligible high school and meeting the academic and financial eligibility requirements. Eligible high schools include Bandera High School, Ed Brune High School at Big Spring Ranch near Leakey, Center Point High School, Comfort High School, Fredericksburg High School, Harper High School, Ingram’s Tom Moore High School, Junction High School, Leakey High School, Mason High School, Medina High School, Nueces Canyon High School near Barksdale, Our Lady of the Hills Catholic High School in Kerrville, Rocksprings High School, Tivy High School in Kerrville, and Utopia High School in Utopia. The scholarship application was available on the Internet for any eligible student from November 1, 2009 through February 1, 2010.

Final selection of recipients for the scholarship awards were overseen by International Scholarship and Tuition Services, Inc. (ISTS) of Nashville, TN. ISTS utilized standard comprehensive recipient selection procedures in making the final selections including the consideration of past academic performance, financial need, statement of career goals, educational aspirations, work experience, unusual personal or family circumstances, leadership skills, participation in school and community activities, recommendation letters, and an essay.

"This year the Foundation awarded 18 scholarships rather than the usual 16," said Ben Modisett, Assistant Executive Director for the Foundation, "We are pleased to be able to provide financial assistance to these deserving students especially at a time when the cost of higher education is increasing every year," he added.

The Foundation’s mission is to perpetuate the vision of founders Floyd A. and Kathleen C. Cailloux. Contact the Foundation at 830-895-5222 or visit for additional information.


add two—The Cailloux Foundation Scholarship Program




Name High School Major College

§ Lucy Butler Ingram Physical Sciences Undecided

§ Norma Castanon Ingram General Studies Texas A&M

§ Darian Condarco Junction Pre-law Texas Tech

§ Justin Dalton Rocksprings Political Science UTSA

§ Judy Lynn Drazan Rocksprings English Literature Texas State

§ Melissa Featherston Ed Brune Charter Animal Science Sul Ross

§ Daniel Gonzalez Kerrville – Tivy Computer Science Texas State

§ Kyle Hill Ingram Petroleum Engineering Texas A&M

§ Rebecca Jackson Harper Nursing Schreiner

§ Michael Johnston Nueces Canyon Physics Angelo State

§ Ian Lemmon Kerrville – Tivy Bio Chemistry Baylor

§ Lucas MacDonald Comfort Business Abilene Christian

§ Joaquin Mejia Mason Engineering Texas Tech

§ Benjamin Morales Mason Psychology UT Austin

§ Cara Pascarella Harper Public Affairs UT Austin

§ Mary Rizzi Medina Astronautical Engineering UT Austin

§ Carolina Robles Comfort Nursing Schreiner

§ Kayla Rohrbach Bandera Psychology Schreiner




This article has been read 525 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus