Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Scholarships Awarded by Local Wireless Companies
Wednesday, June 2, 2010 • Posted June 2, 2010

West Central Wireless, Five Star Wireless, Mid-Tex Cellular and Central Texas Telephone Cooperative proudly announce the awarding of 61 scholarships totaling more than $37,000 to the high school seniors listed below.

According to Mike Higgins, Jr., Chief Executive Officer of Central Texas Telephone Co-op and General Manager of West Central Wireless, Five Star Wireless, and Mid-Tex Cellular, a graduating senior was chosen from each of the 61 public high schools within the boundary of the companies’ 26 county home coverage area. Each student will receive a five hundred dollar scholarship that may be used for tuition, books, or other fees at a university, junior college, community college, or technical school.

The recipients were selected by their school.

West Central Wireless, Mid-Tex Cellular, and Five Star Wireless serve a 26 county home coverage area with roaming partners nationwide and comprise the seventh largest cellular network in Texas.

Winners of the area scholarships include:

Bronte: Jeremy Sanchez

Ballinger: Cheyene Parker

Bangs: Chance Furniss

Blanket: Orlanda Lopez

Samuel V. Champion: Maggie Young

Boerne: Kathryn Brand

Brady: Xander Leatherwood

Dylan Jacoby

Brookesmith: Ashely Parsons

Brownwood: John Paul Hernandez

Center Point: Brittany Butler

Central High School: Kristen R. Hensley

Cherokee: Carissa Davis

Mysti Bessent

Christoval: Allysan Carles

Coleman: Angelina Jones

Comanche: Mercedes Gilchrest

Comfort: Anastacia Klemm

DeLeon: Ashley Sharp

Dublin: Erika Medina

Early: Brandy Wallace

Eden: Dana Sparks

Evant: Carolyn Huncke

Eldorado: Krista Galindo

Fredericksburg: Joshua Wehmeyer

Garden City: Andrea Olivarez

Goldthwaite: Jody Loudamy

Kinsey Perry


Central Texas Telephone Coop /

Mills County State Bank: Bailey Perry

Grape Creek: Sara Martinez

Gustine: Jon Poage

Harper: Jovan Middleton

Huckabay: Morgan Stegall

Ingram: Kaylah Ward

Irion County: Vincent Tanner

Junction: Francisco Tinajero

Lake View High School: Kwangmoon "Alex" Park

Lingleville: Elena Alarcon

Lohn: Laramie Moore

Patricia Del Carmen

Mason: Jeremy Duarte

May: Ty Rhine

Menard: Manuel Ray Hernandez

Miles: Karaina Aldrete

Mullin: Brandon Foster

Randy Sims

Novice: Anthony Jeses Delgadillo

Ozona: Teresa Cervantes

Paint Rock: Fernando Torres

Misael Romo

Panther Creek: Jammie Pruitt

Priddy: Blake Randolph

Cody Seider

Reagan County: Shelby Lentz

Richland Springs: Jose Dominguez

Marsha McMillan

Robert Lee: Jacob Moreno

Rochelle: Taylor Brooks

Samantha Greene

San Saba: David Smith

Tayler Hibler

Santa Anna: Weston Tucker

Sidney: Francisco Munoz

Sonora: Michael Stephens

Star: Melisa Garcia

Juan Facundo

Stephenville: Jason Spears

Sterling City: Cason Wood

Tivy: Nastacia Robles

Veribest: Teresa Rivera

Wall: Shelby Kastler

Nathan Fuesell

Water Valley: Iyoume Salazar

Winters: Joby Winfrey

Zephyr: Shelby Nail

Higgins said the Board of Directors of West Central, Mid-Tex, Five Star and their parent company Central Texas Telephone Coop are proud to be a part of the continued success of these fine young people.

This article has been read 305 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus