Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
4-H volunteers honored at Silver Clover Banquet
Wednesday, August 18, 2010 • Posted August 18, 2010

SAN ANGELO - Texas AgriLife Extension Services annual Silver Clover Recognition Banquet celebrated its 43rd year Aug. 12 at the Zentners Daughter Steak House in San Angelo.

This year's event recognized 31 individuals who are instrumental to the success of AgriLife Extensions West Central District 4-H youth program.

Top volunteers are the backbone of all successful 4-H programs, said Kathy Aycock, AgriLife Extension agent in Tom Green County and the banquet's coordinator. They put in countless hours of work helping 4-H members become successful with a variety of projects.

4-H offers a variety of projects, activities and events tailored specifically to support and enhance volunteer participation and involvement in kids’ lives. This is our time as AgriLife Extension agents to show them the appreciation they deserve.

Aycock said each county selects nominees who are then chosen by a committee comprised of area electric cooperative personnel and AgriLife Extension officials.

The banquet is sponsored by the rural electric cooperatives serving the 23 counties in AgriLife Extensions District 7 in West Central Texas.

Sponsors are Central Texas Electric Cooperative, Coleman County Electric Cooperative, Concho Valley Electric Cooperative, Hamilton County Electric Cooperative, Big Country Electric Cooperative, Pedernales Electric Cooperative, Southwest Texas Electric Cooperative and Taylor Electric Cooperative.

The honorees were:

Brown County - Guy and Ann Glasscock.

Burnet County - Glenda Brady.

Coke County - Wibby Millican.

Coleman County - Mark and Tammy Swening.

Concho County - Heath Belk, Cathy Ellis.

Irion County - Jeff and Stephanie Davidson.

Jones County - George Brooks, Greg Riggins.

Lampasas County - Karen Longoria.

Llano County - Lizz Lange.

Mason County - Troy and Cara Ruffin.

McCulloch County - Truman Farris, JP Murray.

Menard County - Beatrice Garza, Olivia Gonzales.

Mills County - Steven and Debra Bridges.

Runnels County - Bill Bredemeyer, Renonia West.

San Saba County - Valerie Gossett, Jeffrey Osbourn.

Schleicher County - Char Swinford.

Taylor County - Peggy Johnson, Don Richardson.

Tom Green County - Loree Branham, Billie Tjaden.

This article has been read 210 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus