Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Local Dentist Receives Nomination for 2010 Texas AGD Dentist of the Year Award
Wednesday, September 8, 2010 • Posted September 8, 2010

Most Prestigious Honor Among Texas Dentists

Austin, Texas (September 3, 2010) – Dr. Glenn Ruthven has been nominated by the Heart of Texas Dental Society for the Texas Academy of General Dentistry’s (TAGD) 2010 Dentist of the Year Award. It is considered the most prestigious honor a Texas dentist can earn. Nominees are selected by local Texas Dental Association (TDA) societies or local AGD components. Individuals nominated for the award show a commitment to advancing excellence in dentistry through activism in organized dentistry, dedication to continuing education, and participation in charitable work and civic service.

Dr. Ruthven is one of only 22 dentists nominated for this year’s award. He and other nominees will be honored at a special gala on Friday, September 10, during TAGD’s annual Lone Star Dental Conference in Austin. Each nominee will be recognized and will receive an engraved plaque. The gala will conclude with the announcement of the 2010 Texas Dentist of the Year and the presentation of the trophy to the winner.

Dr. Ruthven is a 1966 graduate from the University of Texas Dental Branch in Houston. He has maintained a private dental practice for 44 years. Dr. Ruthven is a very active participant in organized dentistry. Nationally, he has been a member of the American Dental Association for 43 years. On the state level, Dr. Ruthven has held numerous leadership positions with the Texas Dental Association, having served as past delegate and board member. Locally, Dr. Ruthven has served in various officer positions for the Heart of Texas Dental Society, including president. He is also actively involved in the Greater Houston Dental Society, having served as a president and a UTDB Liaison Chairman.

In addition to his leadership positions, Dr. Ruthven has also earned extensive recognition from his peers for his commitment to continuing education. He has served as a class captain for several Star of the South dental meetings as well as ADA annual meetings. Dr. Ruthven was also a Host Chairman for the Star of the South. He is also a member of the American and International College of Dentistry. Dr. Ruthven was also a U.S. Air Force Dental Corp. Captain from 1966-1968.

Along with professional organizations, Dr. Ruthven is extremely active and generous in his community. He was awarded the UTDB Houston Student Mentor Program Award and the UTDB Houston Alumni Service to Dentistry Award for his volunteerism. He has also volunteered for Smiles on Wheels, Mason Head Start program, and Child Advocates for Harris County. Dr. Ruthven was also a chamber of commerce director for Mason, a board member of the Mason Independent School District Foundation, as well as a member of the Mason Lions Club.

To earn a nomination by a local dental society or TAGD component, a dentist must demonstrate dedication to the profession, service to the community, commitment to the principles of continuing education, and participation in other activities that indicate character and excellence. 2010 will mark the 20th anniversary of the Lone Star Dental Conference and the 48th year that this award has been given. Though the award is through the TAGD, dentists of all specialties are eligible and have been given this honor.

TAGD is the second largest dental organization in Texas. Its nearly 2,500 members are dedicated to continuing dental education in general practice. A general dentist is the primary care provider for patients of all ages and is responsible for the diagnosis, treatment, management and overall coordination of services related to patient’s oral health needs.

This article has been read 303 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus