Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Board Appoints New Members to LCRA San Saba/Llano Regional Council
Wednesday, November 24, 2010 • Posted November 24, 2010

AUSTIN – The LCRA Board of Directors this week approved new members to its seven Regional Councils that act as communication links between LCRA and the communities it serves in the Colorado River basin.

Joining the LCRA San Saba/Llano Regional Council are Grant Appleton, Brady; Don Daniel, Mason; and Tom Guthrie, Goldthwaite.

The council program is a mechanism for two-way communication between LCRA and communities in its service area on LCRA issues, projects and activities. The members play a key role in providing feedback, helping LCRA identify and analyze regional issues and consider solutions.

The councils were created to build trust, improve understanding and strengthen relationships in the LCRA service territory. Altogether, 140 people hold positions on the seven councils. In addition to the San Saba/Llano Regional Council (Hamilton, Mills, Lampasas, San Saba, McCulloch, Menard, Kimble, Mason and Llano counties), councils are named Buchanan/Inks (Burnet and Llano counties), Colorado/Wharton/Matagorda (Colorado, Wharton, Matagorda counties), LBJ/Marble Falls (Burnet and Llano counties), Pedernales (Gillespie, Blanco, Kerr, Kendall, Bandera and Comal counties), Bastrop/Fayette (Bastrop, Fayette and parts of Lee, Caldwell and Williamson counties) and Travis/Austin (Williamson, Travis and Hays counties).

The Regional Councils soon are beginning their third year of operation. The councils meet every other month to discuss regional issues related to LCRA’s mission, which is to provide energy, water and community services and to help ensure the protection and constructive use of natural resources in the lower Colorado River basin.

"Each Regional Council is working well, providing us with much-needed and much-appreciated input from the communities we serve," said Gail Oliver, LCRA’s manager of Public Affairs. "We look forward to enhancing our communication efforts through learning and sharing together for the betterment of the citizens living in our service territory.

"LCRA very much appreciates the time and effort each of our council members volunteers to this worthwhile effort. We welcome each of our new members."

Members of the San Saba/Llano Regional Council who are continuing to serve are County Judge Wayne Boultinghouse and Gilley Riojas, Lampasas; Terry Bray and Tracey O’Shay, Austin; Walter Curry and J.D. Kidwell, Junction; Roy B. Inks II, Llano; Teresa King, Dallas; David Leonard, Fort Worth; Rob Lindsey, Goldthwaite; Martha Long, Cherokee; Pat Reardon, Mason; Caroline Runge, Fort McKavett; City Councilmember James Stewart, Brady; Earl Theiss and Robert Yantis, Kingsland; and Sam Warren, Sunrise Beach.

Steve Dyer is LCRA’s Public Affairs representative to the San Saba/Llano Regional Council. Dyer can be reached at 1-800-776-5272, Ext. 2401, and

For more information, go to

About LCRA

LCRA is a nonprofit conservation and reclamation district that provides energy, water and community services to Texans. Created by the Texas Legislature in 1934, LCRA has no taxing authority and operates solely on utility revenues and service fees. LCRA supplies electricity to more than 1.1 million Texans through more than 40 wholesale customers. LCRA also provides many other services to the region. These services include managing floods, protecting the quality of the lower Colorado River and its tributaries, providing parks and recreational facilities, offering economic development assistance, operating water and wastewater utilities, and providing soil, energy and water conservation programs.

This article has been read 72 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus