Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Garrett Rice and Russell Joy Head to FCA Game
Wednesday, May 18, 2011 • Posted May 18, 2011

For the fifth consecutive year Mason High School will have a Senior playing in the the “ Meryle Greathouse Football All-Star Classic.“ Ross Lehmberg, class of 2007 was the first. Followed by, Bryce Estes 2008, Zach Nash 2009, Justin Yonker & Jaquine Mejia in 2010. Carrying on the tradition this year will be Garrett Rice who was selected to the 2011 team. Joining Rice, will be MHS Head Football Coach Russell Joy who was also selected by the FCA All-Star committee to be the Head Coach of this year's South squad. The Meryle Greathouse All-Star classic is one of the premier Texas high school football post season events. It includes players from over 35 different counties and all five classifications of high school football. The game will be played in Abilene, at Shotwell Stadium, Saturday, June 4th @ 7:00PM In the Fall, Coach Joy will be retuning for his sixth year as the Head Football Coach of Mason High School, while Rice will head to DePauw University in Greencastle, Indiana, where he received a scholarship and offer to play football for the Tigers who are coming off back to back NCAA post season appearances. DePauw may be best known for the annual rivalry game between DePauw and Wabash known as the “Monon Bell Game.” It dates back to 1890 and is the fifth oldest contest in college football. The game has been nationally televised every year on ESPN / ABC since 1977.

This article has been read 707 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus