Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Mason Bluebonnet Study Club 70th Anniversary Tea
Wednesday, November 16, 2011 • Posted November 16, 2011

Mason Bluebonnet Study Club celebrated 70 years of community service with a tea at the Mason County Library on November 12. The club which had its beginning in 1941 under the sponsorship of Rochelle Study Club located in neighboring McCulloch County, continues today in the traditions established then. Marilyn Moseley Waller of the Rochelle club attended the tea representing the current membership of the sponsoring club and bringing congratulations and wishes for continued success.Mason Bluebonnet Study Club is a part of Alamo District of Texas Federation of Women’s Clubs which is a part of the General Federation of Women’s Clubs, an international service organization headquartered in Washington, DC. Two officers of Alamo District attended the tea. Patsy Troell who is the immediate past president and current treasurer traveled from Pleasanton and Pat Stevens who will become president in June traveled from Jourdanton.Those attending enjoyed perusing old scrapbooks, yearbooks, and display boards showing the many awards the club has recieved. An award winning disk of a style show from a few years ago showing the wedding gowns of local women was played. Tables were decorated with many small bird houses and a variety of ceramic birds amidst blue flowers. The serving table held a large bowl of fresh cut flowers in a bowl with birds painted on the surface, a beautiful cut glass punch bowl, an elegant silver tea service, and a cake commemorating the occasion accented with bluebonnets.Guests were registered on the historic desk which belonged to Fred Gipson, author of “Old Yeller”. Those registering were Patsy Troell, Pat Stevens, Marilyn Moseley Waller, Lynn Hedges, Patsy Ziriax, Judy Wallace (the daughter of past president of the club Foncene Jordan), Carolyn Toeppich (in memory of past president Tillie Brandenberger), Deanna Handlen, Ruth Dannheim, Jennifer Brinlee, Rosemary Kruckemeyer, Betty Kirby, Corky Kirby, Carol Jordan, Melaney Canfield, Ella Canfield, Ryli Ruffin, Brinda Pape, and Cathy Gullette.Hostesses were club members Tanya Lamoreaux, Sabin Nelson, Tommie Luckenbach, Mary Hemphill, Sherie Clarkson, Mary Ellen Merkel, Betty Meyer.

This article has been read 49 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus