Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Results of May 29 Primary
Mason County
Wednesday, June 6, 2012 • Posted June 6, 2012

During early voting and on the actual voting day of May 29th, 729 ballots were cast in Mason County's Democratic and Republican primaries Of those, 671 voted in the Republican primary, while 58 voted in the Democratic primary.

Mason County voters overwhelming went went presumptive GOP Presidential nominee Mitt Romney, handing him 72.45% of their votes, with Ron Paul, at 12.38%, a distant second, and Rick Santorum third with 6.66% of the vote.

Mason County Democrats gave an overwhelming nod to President Barack Obama with 91.07% of their votes for his renomination.

In the race for United States Senator (to replace a retiring Kay Bailey Hutchison), Mason Republicans cast 54.73% of their votes for David Dewhurst, while 26.34% voted for Ted Cruz. Dewhurst and Cruz are slated for a runoff, as neither was able to secure enough votes for the nomination.

Democrats saw a tight race in Mason County for the Senate seat, with Paul Sadler taking 42.31%, while Grady Yarbrough received 26.92% and Addie Dainell Allen scored 21.15%. Statewide, Sadler and Yarbrough, like their Republican counterparts, will meet in a runoff, and the winner will face the winner of the Dewhurst/Cruz runoff.

Incumbent Representative Mike Conaway easily took the nomination for District 11 with 82.22% of the votes.

The Democratic nominee for the District 11 congressional seat, Jim Riley, was unopposed.

Robert Duncan wrapped up the nomination for the State Senate, District 28 with 84.69% of the Republican vote.

Incumbent State Representative Harvey Hilderbran easily took the Mason County nomination to retain his seat with 79.4% of the votes.

In one of the most hotly contested area races, Mason handed Scott Monroe 51.36% of their votes, while Brad McCullough received 48.64%. Monroe won that race, and since he is unopposed, will be the only nominee for District Attorney of the 198th Judicial District.

The only locally contested races were for County Commissioner, Precincts 4 and 3. In the Precinct 4 race, Lester Kothmann had announced his withdrawl from the contest; but, still posted 24.6% of the votes to Stephen Mutschink's 75.4%. In Precinct 3, incumbent Stanley Toeppich regained his seat with 60% of the vote over challenger Hal McMillan's 40%.

This article has been read 116 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus