Texas Parks and Wildlife has arranged for a local Hunter Education Course to be offered this month. The course will be held on August 18 and 19 at the Mason County Annex (old Post Office) next to the City office. On Saturday the 18th, the class will run from 8:00 a.m. till 5:00 p.m. On Sunday the 19th, the class will begin at 2:00 p.m. and run until completed. Cost for the course is $15, and attendance at both days is required.
Every Texas hunter born on or after September 2, 1971, must successfully complete a Hunter Education Training Course. For those born after the trigger date who are under nine years of age, the young hunter MUST be accompanied by an adult*. For ages nine through sixteen, the hunter must have successfully completed the Hunter Education Course, or they must be accompanied by an adult*. For those who are over age 17, they must successfully complete a Hunter Education Course or purchase a one-time-only "Hunter Education Deferral" good for the current license year and they must be accompanied by an adult*.
* Accompanied means: By a person who is at least 17 years of age; who is licensed to hunt in Texas; who has passed hunter education or is exempt (born before September 2, 1971), and must be within normal voice control.Proof of certification or "Hunter Education Deferral" is required to be on your person while hunting.
Certification is NOT required to purchase a hunting license.
To pre-register for the course, call (325) 423-4034 or (512) 680-8180, or contact contact Game Warden Cody Hatfield at the Mason Law Enforcement Center.