Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Three Area Women Awarded Missouri Scholarships
Wednesday, August 6, 2008 • Posted August 6, 2008

Three area young women have been awarded $18,720 in Texas Cottey College Scholarship Funds to partially finance their education at Cottey College in Nevada, Mo.

Vanessa Syring, Fredericksburg, a Cottey sophomore majoring in Music Education, was awarded $6,240 as was Elisha Wawrzyniak of Mason, a Cottey sophomore majoring in Art. Mason freshman Henrietta Howell received $6,240 to pursue her degree in Pre-Med.

TCCSF is a Texas P.E.O. project that provides financial assistance to academically qualified Texas women attending Cottey College. Funding is provided by individual Texas P.E.O. members and from the general fund of Texas State P.E.O. Chapter.

Ms. Wawrzyniak was awarded $2,000 last year in TCCSF money. She is a Cottey honor student and received the Preston Memorial Art Award in the spring.

Ms. Syring is a member of the Chamber Singers on campus and holds an officer position in P.E.O. Hall.

An honor graduate of Mason High School, Ms. Howell has also been awarded the Cottey Founder's Scholarship based on her outstanding secondary academic achievement.

The three young women are being sponsored at Cottey College by local P.E.O. Chapter 1B. Chapter 1B will be sponsoring eight area girls on the Missouri campus this school year. Other students attending are freshman Silvia Arzapala, freshman Patricia Martinez, sophomore Miekel Melton, freshman Rebecca Schmidt, and sophomore Samantha Warren.

Any are young women interested in learning more about the opportunities afforded by Cottey College should contact Evelyn Burns at 997-1730, Mary Lou White at 997-2873, or Betty Stutz at 830-997-1179.

This article has been read 139 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus