Mason County News
Weather Fair 81.0°F (47%)
Mason County Election Results
Wednesday, November 21, 2012 • Posted November 21, 2012

During a meeting on November 19, the Mason County Commissioners' Court reviewed the results of the November 6 general election and certified those results.

Mason County, like most of the state of Texas, voted strongly Republican, endorsing Mitt Romney/Paul Ryan for the presidential race, and Ted Cruz for the Senate seat vacated by Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison's retirement.

963 Mason County residents voted straight ticket Republican, while 212 voted straight ticket Democrat. Five voted straight ticket Libertarian, while one voted straight ticket Green.

All of those straight ticket votes are included in the final vote tallies that follow.

President and Vice President

Republican - Mitt Romney/Paul Ryan, 1565 votes

Democrat - Barack Obama/Joe Biden, 380 votes

Libertarian - Gary Johnson/Jim Gray, 22 votes

Green - Jill Stein/Cheri Honkala, 1 vote

Nationally, President Obama had 62,611,250 votes to Governor Romney's 59,134,475.

Statewide, Governor Romney had 4,555,857 votes, President Obama 3,294,482, Johnson 88,111, and Stein 24,450.

United States Senator

Republican - Ted Cruz, 1447 votes

Democrat - Paul Sadler, 435 votes

Libertarian - John Jay Myers, 39 votes

Green - David B. Collins, 12 votes

Statewide, Cruz had 4,456,654 votes, Sadler 3,183,359, Myers 161,463 and Collins 67,791.

US Representative, District 11

Republican - Mike Conaway, 1511 votes

Democrat - Jim Riley, 366 votes

Libertarian - Scott J. Ballard, 51 votes

Statewide, Congressman Conaway had 177,166 votes, Riley 41,842, and Ballard 6,283.

State Senator, District 28

Republican - Robert Duncan, 1488 votes

Libertarian - M. J. (Smitty) Smith, 179 votes

Statewide, Senator Duncan had 183,062 votes to Smith's 28,811.

State Representative, District 53

Republican - Harvey Hilderbran, 1555 votes

District Attorney, 198th Judicial District

Republican - Scott Monroe, 1535 votes

County Attorney

Republican - Shain V. H. Chapman, 1631 votes

Sheriff and Tax Assessor-Collector

Republican - Buster Nixon, 1628 votes

Commissioner - Precinct 1

Republican - Wayne Hofmann, 428 votes

Commissioner - Precinct 3

Republican - G. Stanley Toeppich, 464 votes

Commissioner - Precinct 4 (unexpired term)

Republican - Stephen Mutschink, 472 votes

This article has been read 347 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of Mason County News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus